Florida is a fishing state.
That’s why the state requires fishing licenses for anyone fishing in it, whether you live in the Big Easy or the Blue Ridge Mountains.
But there are some catch-and-release restrictions on the books for those who want to fish in the state.
Here are the things you need to know to get your floridal fishing license in Florida.1.
You must be 21 years old and a resident of Florida.2.
You will need to register with the state and pay $20 to get a fishing license.3.
You need to live within 15 miles of the nearest Florida waterfowl or birding area and have a valid Florida driver’s license or Florida ID card.4.
You may not fish more than six times in a calendar year, but you can fish once per calendar year.5.
You are required to have a licensed fishing line.6.
You can’t fish more in one season than you have in the previous.7.
You have to have the proper fishing license and be a resident and active duty member of the U.S. Navy.8.
Fishing licenses must be returned to the state within seven days of being issued.9.
The state allows fishing at least once every six months in certain locations, such as a designated area or an emergency situation.10.
You’ll need to be 21 and have your fishing license renewed every three years.11.
You’re not allowed to fish from a boat in a designated fishing area.12.
Fishing is limited to fish that are caught with a hook, line, or other device.13.
Fishing with a fishing line is prohibited.14.
Fish may only be caught from water that is 1,000 feet deep.15.
The first catch must be caught in a waterway designated by the state, but any fish caught in other areas will be considered fishing.16.
Fishing on land is allowed only if it’s in a protected area or in a lake.17.
There are special rules about catching and releasing turtles.18.
You cannot fish from aircraft.19.
You don’t have to fish within 1,500 feet of a designated birding or fishing area or from a designated waterway.20.
You aren’t allowed to keep more than five fish on your person.21.
You won’t be allowed to use a mobile phone while fishing.22.
You could be fined up to $500 for catching fish, and up to 15 days in jail if caught fishing.23.
You’d need to have your license renewed at least every six years.24.
You might have to spend $10,000 to renew your fishing permit if you have been caught with more than 25 fish.25.
The Florida Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management is required to issue licenses to anyone fishing at any time.